Date: Sun 28 Apr 2019

By David Simpson

Ready for the Playoffs ?

In-Depth Analysis

Step 3

Six teams overall will be promoted to Step 2 from Step 3. These will comprise the leading club in each Step 3 division, together with two of the four divisional playoff winners, following inter-divisional playoffs.

The winners in the four Step 3 divisions are Dorking Wanderers, Farsley Celtic, Weymouth and Kettering Town.

The 16 sides inside the playoffs are: (Bostik Isthmian Football League Premier Division) Carshalton Athletic, Haringey Borough, Tonbridge Angels, and Merstham, (Evo-Stik Northern Premier Division) South Shields, Warrington Town, Nantwich Town and Buxton, (EvoStik Southern League Premier Division South) Taunton Town, Met Police, Salisbury and Poole Town (EvoStik Southern League Premier League Central) King’s Lynn Town, Stourbridge, Alvechurch and Stratford Town.

At Step 3, the bottom three sides will be relegated to Step 4. If any spaces are available at Step 3 due to clubs dropping out then the “unlucky playoff winner” at Step 4 with the best PPG will be promoted. If there are more than two vacancies then relegated clubs will be reprieved on a PPG basis. The bottom club of each division will not be eligible for a reprieve.

The 12 sides relegated are: (Bostik Isthmian Football League Premier Division) Burgess Hill Town, Whitehawk and Harlow Town (Evo-Stik Northern Premier Division) Marine, Workington and North Ferriby United (Folded), (EvoStik Southern League Premier Division South) Basingstoke Town, Frome Town and Staines Town, (EvoStik Southern League Premier League Central) St Neots Town, Halesowen Town and Bedworth United .

To note at Step 3: North Ferriby United have folded in the Northern Premier. They will take bottom place.

Step 4

At Step 4, the side finishing 1st will be automatically promoted to Step 3. Sides finishing 2nd to 5th will go into playoffs. This will result in 7 sides winning their divisional playoffs. However, of these sides, only the 5 sides with the highest PPG will be promoted to Step 3, therefore 2 sides will win their respective playoffs and will NOT be promoted.

The winners Step 4 Division are: Atherton Collieries, Morpeth Town, Peterborough Sports, Blackfield & Langley, Hayes & Yeading, Bowers & Pitsea and Cray Wanderers.

Step 5

Only the side finishing 1st in each Step 5 division will be promoted to Step 4, with NO playoffs

The 14 sides promoted from their respective leagues are Chertsey Town, Histon, Hullbridge Sports, Wantage Town, Ilkeston Town, City of Liverpool, Worksop Town, Dunston UTS, Chichester City, Cray Valley PM, Biggleswade, Daventry Town, Sholing and Willand Rovers.

Many thanks:

This analysis brought to you by the Team at